Tuesday, 1 July 2014

SNK and me work out a compromise

and bonus feature: our build server configuration
A few days ago I was bemoaning the issue of strong names and nuget. There isn’t a perfect solution, but I think I have a reasonable compromise now. What I have done is:
  • Copy/pasted the csproj, with the duplicates referencing a strong name key
  • Changed those projects to emit an assembly named StackExchange.Redis.StrongName
  • Copy/pasted the nuspec, with the new spec creating the StackExchange.Redis.StrongName package from the new assemblies
  • PINNED the assembly version number; this will not change unless I am introducing breaking changes, which will also coincide with major/minor version number changes – or maybe also for reasonably significant feature additions; not for every point-release, is the thing
  • Ensured I am using [assembly:AssemblyFileVersion] and [assembly:AssembyInformationalVersion] to describe the point-release status
This should achieve the broadest reach with the minimum of fuss and maintenance.
Since that isn’t enough words for a meaningful blog entry, I thought I’d also talk about the build process we use, and the tooling changes we needed for that. Since we are using TeamCity for the builds, it is pretty easy to double everything without complicating the process – I just added the 2 build steps for the new csproj, and told it about the new nuspec:
image
Likewise, TeamCity includes a tool to automatically tweak the assembly metadata before the build happens – the “AssemblyInfo patcher” – which we can use to pin the one value (to change manually based on human decisions), while keeping the others automatic:
image
Actually, I’ll probably change that to use a parameter to avoid me having to dig 3 levels down. After that, we can just let it run the build, and out pop the 2 nupkg as artefacts ready for uploading:
image
If you choose, you can also use TeamCity to set up an internal nuget feed – ideal for both internal use and dogfooding before you upload to nuget.org. In this case, you don’t need to grab the artefacts manually or add a secondary upload step – you can get TeamCity to publish them by default, making them immediately available in-house:
image
It isn’t obvious in the UI, but this search is actually restricted to the “SE” feed, which is my Visual Studio alias to the TeamCity nuget server:
image
Other build tools will generally have similar features – simply: this is what works for us.

3 comments:

Graham said...

How do you plan on keeping the 2 project files in sync?

Fangyaya said...

cheap ray ban sunglasses
air jordan shoes
longchamp bags
ugg outlet store
coach outlet online
tory burch sandals
adidas superstar
ugg boot uk
ugg boots
ugg uk
ray bans
longchamp le pliage
michael kors outlet online
canada goose outlet
nike store
cheap ray ban sunglasses
toms shoes uk
gucci belts
red bottom shoes
canada goose coats
ray ban outlet
louis vuitton
louis vuitton purses
nike air max pas cher
oakley sunglasses wholesale
coach factory outlet
uggs sale
air jordan 4
lebron 13
true religion jeans
new england patriots jerseys
ugg canada
nfl jerseys
ugg outlet
uggs for women
michael kors purses
coach outlet
jordans for sale
20168.22chenjinyan

Eric Yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com